Just Because You Don't Like A Certain Game, Doesn't Make That Game Bad

Note: [All opinions expressed herein are that of the author and do not necessarily reflect those of GamerXChange.net and its staff]

Greetings one and all, I’ve been doing quite a few reviews lately and I’ve also been sure to speak my opinion on lots of other video game industry happenings. It’s been shaping up to be a momentous year for gaming and gamer’s alike, some people are even claiming that 2011 has been the greatest year in the history of gaming, it’s always difficult to compare things like that, but I’ve also noticed that the dreaded fanboy trolls are out in full force lately. It’s almost like it’s not good enough to dislike a game, but you have to berate other gamer’s with your own opinion as to why that particular game is bad. I’m not sure I’ve ever seen things get this out of hand, but gaming is bigger now then it ever has been, which means it could get worse.

I’ve always done my best to stick up for gamer’s, we tend to get attacked by the media and we are blamed for all of societies woes and troubles, as if poor parenting has absolutely no impact whatsoever. We all have different opinions, it’s one of the things that makes us human, but the ability to respect each others opinions is also a human trait, one that is sadly being forgotten about. I really wish gamer’s would adopt a live and let live attitude, it’s gotten to the point where I actually think certain fanboys actually wish bad things to happen to the companies they don’t personally like.

Everyone that knows me also knows I have very strong opinions on certain games and franchises as a whole, the difference between disliking something and going around bad mouthing it are huge. I might dislike a certain game, like Battlefield 3 or the Battlefield series as a whole, but I don’t think they are bad games by any means, they just aren’t my cup of tea. I wont go postal on someone if they enjoy the series and I wont wish for the game to be broken or unplayable. The same cant be said for the people that on hate on another FPS that goes by the name Call Of Duty. The fact that people went out of their way to write fake user reviews on Metacritic further proves my point. I mean seriously, who does that?

There are a ton of other examples I could use, including the little known fact that I don’t really like Valve made games….there I said it and I feel much better for having said it. I actually enjoyed the first Left 4 Dead game, but that was because the game was a fresh take on the zombie game and a first person shooter game. I always have thought that Half Life was overrated and I’ve never even been able to finish those games, Counterstrike is boring and don’t even get me started on the mini-games known as Portal 1 & 2. See, I have very strong opinions and yet I wont sit there and make fake reviews on the games or say that they are bad, I can see how people would actually like those types of games and it’s their right to do so. Why should I force hate on people for having a difference of opinion? The answer of course is I shouldn’t and neither should you.

I’ve said this time and again, in many different opinion pieces, we are all gamer’s and should look out for one another. No games deserve a zero rating, and people need to be more understanding in others views. We cant all be right all of the time, sometimes we need to concede and simply agree to disagree with people, instead of berating them and cramming our own opinions down everyone’s throats. Don’t get me wrong, I want people to speak and have their own opinions and views, I just don’t think they should be constantly forced on people. I know some folk who do nothing but post in Call Of Duty articles over and over again and it gets old.

As we fully enter the Holiday season, I want gamer’s to enjoy what is arguably the best year ever for all gamer’s, no matter the platform you prefer, we are all after the same goal, which is to find and play great games. In the spirit of the season I’d like to see people relax a bit, and remember just because you don’t like a certain game, doesn’t make that game bad. Were not here for a long time, so let’s all try to have a good time and be good to each other.

Seasons Greetings and Happy Thanksgiving to all!

No comments yet... Be the first to leave a reply!

Sound Off!

